Sept. 2, Labor Day, 2013… thoughts

 

MONDAY, LABOR DAY, SEPTEMBER

2, 2013

some thoughts I have posted originally on my Facebook page, re, the false use of the ‘Don’t tread on Me’, phrase and the so called, Gadsden or Rattlesnake flag.
[

The timber rattlesnake and eastern diamondback rattlesnake both populate the geographical areas of the original thirteen colonies. Their use as a symbol of the American colonies can be traced back to the publications of Benjamin Franklin. In 1751, he made the first reference to the rattlesnake in a satirical commentary published in his Pennsylvania Gazette. It had been the policy of Britain to send convicted criminals to America, so Franklin suggested that they thank the British by sending rattlesnakes to England.[1]

Benjamin Franklin’s “Join, or Die” cartoon

In 1754, during the French and Indian War, Franklin published his famous woodcut of a snake cut into eight sections. It represented the colonies, with New England joined together as the head and South Carolina as the tail, following their order along the coast. Under the snake was the message “Join, or Die“. This was the first political cartoon published in an American newspaper.]

more

SEPTEMBER 2, 2013

 

On this 9/11 I am going to go out with plastic bags and just pick up the garbage that people mindlessly throw out of their cars etc… I have to do something… i may produce a flyer to leave off at the town Hall, down the road, and post around… I am going to try to get my ‘activist’ (MoveOn members ,etc.) to also act..

Usually i start getting more depressed and having ‘anxiety’ and nightmares and more around this time of year due to my PTSD from that experience.. I don’t want to dwell on that. I ‘ll do that the day before through my counselor… I want to promote this idea and hope that others will do the same. I am going to post this in some of my groups here as well.

Please Volunteer locally, or take up a project from this website near you.

UNITED WE SERVE.. and ‘ALL FOR GOOD’.

Peace, no more War.. change through NONVIOLENCE… but, Change indeed.

BOB

 

🙂

http://www.serve.gov/site-page/recruit?q=site-page/link

 

Image