Bill Maher Has The Ahmed Mohamed Thing All Wrong – by Dean Obeidallah

i’m really tired of Muslim bashing as a rule. and its one of Maher’s so called, liberal, so called ‘rule’ rules…”Being criticized for my views comes with the territory (and to be honest, I like attention so I enjoy this.) Although this was the first time a so-called progressive came after me. Typically, it’s people on the right like Pamela Geller, the people at Breitbart.com, or the Fox News types.

But before Maher read from my article, he first served up some good old fashioned anti-Muslim fear mongering with comments like: “Will someone look me in the eye right here and tell me over the last 30 years if so many young Muslim men…hadn’t blow up a lot of shit around the world.” Maher made this statement after one of his guests, Univision anchor Jorge Ramos, shared his view that Mohamed had been arrested because of his Muslim faith.
So you see where this is going. Maher’s view is that since some Muslims have committed bad acts in the past, it’s okay to profile Muslim-Americans.

Now to my article. Maher, after first mangling my last name, read this line from it, “Why would a homemade clock get him arrested, you may ask?” Before Maher could read the next sentence (where I noted, “It shouldn’t, but his last name is Mohamed and he lives in Irving, Texas,”), he was interrupted by Ramos who stated, “Exactly.”

This comment caused Maher to turn in his chair, learn forward toward Ramos and angrily declare: “I just answered that question. Because for the last 30 years it’s [Islam] been a culture that has been blowing shit up over and over again. I could spend the rest of the show on this…”

Leave a Reply

