DE NATURA DEORUM: “Adventures of a Non-Deist, or, Why I Don’t ‘Believe’ in the Gods” by Peg Aloi

I am somewhat where she/ the author is, but maybe more ‘gods’ oriented in that I use the vernacular… or speech thereof and am comfortable at looking at the aliveness of Nature and its relationship to humanity and all living things… “But I also feel that my imaginative entanglement with the world of nature and spirit is as close to religion as I am likely to come in this life, and that it has been enormously rewarding, and that, on my saddest and most wearying days, my commitment to this path keeps me balanced and content.”

Humanistic Paganism

De Natura Deorum is a monthly column where we explore the beliefs of Naturalistic Pagans about the nature of deity. This essay was originally published at Peg Aloi’s blog The Witching Hour on the Patheos Pagan Channel.

I was raised Catholic. Not very strictly, but enough to carry away a profound sense of discomfort with anything remotely connected to religion. I did kind of enjoy the music and chanting and stories and pageantry of mass, but of course in later life I understood it was a love of ritual, not a love of Catholic liturgy. I was also raised in a a family fairly in touch with nature: we hunted and fished and grew and gathered much of our own food. So when I discovered neo-paganism in graduate school, I mainly related to the environmental activism and the nature worship components. In fact, until I found out there were witches and…

View original post 1,016 more words

Leave a Reply

